Richard Glossip Needs Our Help

And time is of the essence

There are two bills in the Oklahoma House Judiciary Committee that are important to Rich’s case. The prosecutor has crucial evidence which was never produced. These bills would free him to release this evidence to Rich’s lawyers.

Please contact the members of the judiciary committee, especially Chairman Rande Worthen, and let them know that:

  • House Bill 2219 (Disclosure of Evidence After Conviction), and
  • House Bill 2220 (Prosecutor Conduct Review Panel)

are important pieces of legislation that must move out of the committee so they can be heard on the floor of the House of Representatives. The judiciary committee has the chance to kill these bills without a hearing.

We can’t let that happen!

Please contact Chairman Worthen and the other committee members and POLITELY ask them to move House Bills 2219 and 2220 out of the committee and to the House of Representatives where they can be heard.

For more case information, please visit the Save Richard Glossip site and follow his story at:

Judiciary Committee Members

Name                          Phone                         Email                                         

Rande Worthen          (405) 557-7398           rande.worthen@okhouse.gov

Gerrid Kendrix            (405) 557-7369           gerrid.kendrix@okhouse.gov

Carol Bush                   (405) 557-7359           carol.bush@okhouse.gov

Jose Cruz                     (405) 557-7397           jose.cruz@okhouse.gov

Ross Ford                    (405) 557-7347           ross.ford@okhouse.gov

Jason Lowe                 (405) 557-7367           jason.lowe@okhouse.gov

Stan May                     (405) 557-7338           stan.may@okhouse.gov

Lonnie Sims                (405) 557-7340           lonnie.sims@okhouse.gov

Danny Sterling            (405) 557-7349           danny.sterling@okhouse.gov

Judd Strom                  (405) 557-7402           judd.strom@okhouse.gov

 

 

The warden said he’d mail my letter
The chaplain’s waitin’ by the door
Tonight we’ll cross the yard together
Then they can’t hurt me anymore

I am going over yonder
Where no ghost can follow me
There’s another place beyond here
Where i’ll be free I believe

Give my radio to johnson
Thibodeaux can have my fan
Send my bible home to mama
Call her every now and then

I suppose I got it comin’
I can’t ever pay enough
All my rippin’ and a runnin’
I hurt everyone I loved

The world’ll turn around without me
The sun’ll come up in the east
Shinin’ down on all of them that hate me
I hope my goin’ brings ’em peace

Mandola: David Steele
Masterer: Hank Williams
Bass: Kelley Looney
Assistant Engineer: Patrick Earle
Mixer, Recorded by: Ray Kennedy
Acoustic Guitar: Steve Earle
Harmonica, Vocals: Steve Earle
Mixer, Producer: The Twangtrust
Drums, Percussion: Will Rigby
Writer: Steve Earle

Why this song?

This is probably the best song I have ever heard about someone facing death on death row, and Steve Earle has written several. It is one of Steve Earle’s most beautiful and heartfelt songs and details Jonathan Wayne Nobles’ final day on the day of his execution. Steve had befriended Jonathan 10 years earlier and met him one month before his death and witnessed his execution. The song lyrics are incredible in their ability to humanize someone society considers not worthy of life. - Adam

Submit a song!

This playlist is a collaborative effort, so your input is not only welcome but vital! Please share a song with us. We're looking for:

  • music that reminds us what we’re struggling for;
  • music that reminds us of why it’s worth the struggle;
  • music that strengthens us when we need to be brave; that lifts up up when we’re feeling lost or helpless; that reminds us of our own power; that connects us through our common humanity;
  • songs we can sing when we’re facing down injustices in the world.